Sonic Wonders: A Musical Ode to Endangered Sounds of the World

First Album Pays Homage to the Seven Sonic Wonders

A musical tribute to seven endangered sonic wonders of the world has been created by Dolby Laboratories. The album, entitled “Sonic Wonders: A Tribute,” was composed by award-winning composer Nainita Desai and includes sounds from a variety of natural locations around the globe.

The seven sonic wonders included in the album are: the Vatnajokull glacier in Iceland, the dawn chorus of Lake Suvasvesi in Finland, the smiling hippopotamus in Kenya, the frog beats in Gamboa in Panama, the murmur of starlings in the United Kingdom, the whispers of a coral reef in the Sulu Sea, and the song of a humpback whale in the Caribbean Sea.

Dolby followed strict criteria to choose these sonic wonders, including their epic natural beauty, endangerment status, diversity and distribution, ecological importance, historical heritage, geographical location, and embodiment of mystery.

The album was mixed by Kurt Martinez with an aim to create a deeper connection between listeners and Mother Nature. All royalties from this album will go to EarthPercent charity which offers music industry a way to support organizations with greatest impact against climate change.

Nainita Desai expressed her excitement about working on this project saying “I have been fortunate enough to travel all over the world and hear some amazing sounds of nature. We often forget about joys that sounds bring us compared to sights it offers but they are truly hand-in-hand.” Chris Watson added that he hopes that these tracks can transport listeners into heart of these natural wonders. Dolby Atmos technology takes them there even further.”

Leave a Reply